jump to navigation

The Fridge September 27, 2005

Posted by Carthik in news, ubuntu.
trackback

Go check out the Ubuntu Family Fridge. There is a lot sticking on it already. It is supposed to be the place to check for Ubuntu news, you know, the general kind that does not fall into a security notice, or release note or anything else. It is updated regularly by the looks of it.

I really wish they’d make it easy for outsiders like me to post a note on the fridge, too. Right now, one has to send an email, and as with other such websites, you bet someone else has sent the same info in a different mail before (and after) you. So much effort for so little return, really. The fridge is powered by Drupal, and I am sure more than one author (in fact a whole community) can submit articles to a Drupal powered site, and the submissions could be moderated, even.

The folks at Ubuntu seem to place a premium on security – as is evidenced by the “https” links for the wiki, launchpad and everything else. Does using a certificate really improve the security for a wiki – and does it really matter if what I send to the wiki over the internet is not encrypted – I mean, it finally is up there for everyone to see right?

Comments»

1. Ralph - September 27, 2005

Didn’t know about that site. very nice!! thanks

2. tabgilbert - September 27, 2005

Getting a good selection of articles. Good Job!

3. ubuntonista - September 27, 2005

Thanks guys – I love doing this too :)

4. Pascal - September 27, 2005

Check the about section, they reasoned there that they want to first synchronise article commentry to also appear in the forums [www.ubuntuforums.org]. Give ‘em some time, I’d say. :-P

Although I like Drupal (use it m’self), I think I’ll stick to this blog for quick, trendy updates. Cheers mate for your work, it’s very much appreciated.

Keep it up,
Pascal Klein

5. ubuntonista - September 27, 2005

Thank you for the encouragement, Pascal :)

6. Pascal - September 28, 2005

No worries mate.
By the way, does this tips, tricks and news blog do link exchanges? ;-)

Cheers.

7. Jeff Waugh - September 28, 2005

ubuntonista: It’s coming, we’re only just kicking it off… and it hasn’t even been officially announced yet. :-) I’m hoping to avoid having user logins on The Fridge itself, and anonymous story creation is not brilliant in Drupal atm, so a bit of tidying up is required before that happens. Either that, or we’ll adopt Launchpad logins.

8. ubuntonista - September 28, 2005

Thanks Jeff – it just so happened that I spotted someone’s del.icio.us bookmark that led me to the website and I loved it. Thanks for letting me know about the fact that it is an up-and-coming site :)

9. seks izle - September 29, 2010

Didn’t know about that site. very nice!! thanks

10. good freezer chest - July 27, 2014

Good information. Lucky me I recently found your website by chance (stumbleupon).

I have book marked it for later!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

